Jane Shackell, QC elected Chair of the Board of Governors of Capilano University

August 20, 2013 | Jane Shackell | Vancouver

Established in conformity with the University Act, the Capilano University Board of Governors is composed of 15 members:  the chancellor, the president and vice-chancellor, eight persons appointed by the provincial Board Resourcing & Development Office, two faculty members, two students, and one non-faculty staff member.

The Board is responsible for the business affairs of the University.  It determines the policies by which the University operates and reviews the financial performance of the University.  Traditionally, the Board holds public meetings ten times each year to conduct its general business and to fulfil its statutory responsibilities.  According to provisions outlined in the University Act, Capilano University Board members do not receive remuneration for their services.